What Being a Digital Nomad Has Taught Me: 25 Life Lessons

I’ve solo traveled 10 countries with my business in my backpack. Here’s what I’ve learned about myself and life along the way

Heather Grant
4 min readOct 20, 2023

Originally published on heathergrantwriter.com

As a health and wellness copywriter, I often fear that people get the impression I have it all together. I don’t. My life strategy is ‘winging it’, and I get told I have my ‘head in the clouds’ so often I have a tattoo to symbolise it.

Like many people, my wellness journey has been a wobbly one. I’ve gone to extremes, I’ve gotten lost, and I’ve struggled to find the ‘balance’ everyone brags about.

But amid the zigs and zags, I’ve created a business that allows me the ultimate freedom to travel the world and find my version of ‘wellness’.

I’ve made friends from around the globe, collected life-changing experiences, learnt so many things about myself, and picked up daily rituals and practices to keep me sane.

Here are some of the lessons I’ve learnt along the way.

1. Think I’m eras. Is it working right now? Great! Enjoy it. Not sure it’s forever? That’s fine, it doesn’t have to be.

--

--